Posted in Rajasthan, travel

Zostel? – For a GenZ travel experience!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I have been traveling around my country since 14 years now. I often find myself in places that would either be extra ordinary or out of the ordinary.  India is a beautiful country and the people here are all the more beautiful, anyone who has been here will vouch for that. We are the perfect example of hospitality and not just traditional but also blend it with a pinch of modernity. If there was one thing that I had to pick up about India from a travelers’ perspective, I’d say, we are naturally hippie!

We are the messengers of peace and brotherhood, propagators of love and warmth. We open our hearts and let everyone in. And we like it that way, we are proud of our hospitality, of all those small and big things that we not only care about but also share. I sometimes dream of another life where I am born in another world and I am drawn to this country and get amazed as I see these cultures like an outsider. Yet again I fall in love with this land.

Whether born as an Indian or not, the heart is forever Indian. And I witness how men and women from the west are attracted to the east. We welcome them, sometimes be one of them and let them be one of us. We celebrate being together, and spread the joy that comes from wandering.

It is during these wandering tours that I end up meeting people who love India. Whether it is tent pitched under the stars on a lonely hill, a chamber hall behind a popular temple where you can spend the night for free, a verandah of the only school in the village, a 150 year old traditional house in the forest or a bunk bed shared dormitory, I have tried them all. Life actually happens in all of these interesting and not so luxurious accommodations.

One such exhilarating experience came from a recent stay at a Hostel in Rajasthan. Though the state is known for its luxurious homecomings, there is space for the traveler on road. At Pushkar and Udaipur, I booked myself a shared dormitory bed at Zostel. An upcoming and expanding chain of hostels across India, this brand is catching up fast with its must have presence in must go places.

For me, it was the first time that I stayed at a traveler’s hostel and within no time I could see how it was adding value to my solo trip. First things first, it was very economical, commendably clean and a fantasy perk for the eyes. The moment you enter, you see those big cushions lined up across the wall with a low bedding, and all you want to do is jump on them. The hanging bulbs from the ceiling and the mythological graffiti on the walls were making it look very attractive. The house has the local aesthetics, the people have local warmth and the cuisine has local taste, all that a global traveler needs.

The rooftop restaurants besides the ‘cook your own food’ facility is also the chilling zone and the heart of these Zostels. Great food is accompanied by great music, a fantastic view and an amazing company. Friendships strike over everything here – be it your book, your collection of country music, a drag of your light or simply a lemonade. There is a breeze of stories, mild as well as wild, that gives a great vibe to this place. I spent a soothing afternoon at Zostel Pushkar and a chirpy talkative evening at Zostel Udaipur. When conversations get a view, they sound more intimate and the comfort zone builds up flawlessly at Zostel.

Apart from the relaxing and chilled out scenes at this traveler’s hostel, they also offer other travel related services like ticket booking, travel inquiries and nearby offbeat day trips. Another add on is the wifi service which enables a ‘work on the go!’ which is a booster for many who travel. If you are not looking for something formal and can adjust to the free spirit, then I am sure, Zostel is your hideout.

The next on my mind is Zostel @ Varanasi, it is a city that is said that every Hindu should visit once in their life.

 

Leave a Reply

